Le Tour de Langkawi (LTdL), Asia’s premier multiple-stage race is the brain child of Malaysia’s Prime Minister, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamed which made its debut in 1996 to place Malaysia on the world sporting and tourism map. It was named after the jewel island of Langkawi, a UNESCO  World Geopark status island located off the western coast of Peninsular Malaysia. Back then, the race started off with a modest UCI-status of 2.6. LTdL has since evolved to become Malaysia’s biggest cycling competition and steadily raised its status to become Asia’s biggest race which has been upgraded to its current 2.0Hors Class, recognised and sanctioned by the UCI and UCI Asia Tour. LTdL is also considered as one of the world’s exciting races outside of Europe, attracting top teams from the World Tour, Pro Continental as well as Continental and national teams from Europe, North America, South America and Asia.  Over the years, Le Tour de Langkawi has sparked off great interests and received recognition from top European teams and riders. Known as a sporting spectacle which combines both sprinting and climbing elements, LTdL has produced names who have went on to make waves in the international cycling scenes including the Grand Tours. They include former world champion like Italians Paolo Bettini and Ivan Quaranta, American Chris Horner, Tom Danielsen, Stuart O’Grady, Graeme Brown, Robert Hunter, Anthony Charteau and many more. Sprinters like Andrea Guardini has also earned great reputation as the race’s most accomplished sprinter with record victories in Malaysia.  Asian riders like Wong Kam-Po, Anuar Manan, Ng Yong Li, Hariff Salleh, Fauzan Ahmad Lufti and Loh Sea Keong were among the notable Asian riders who managed to create impact in the Tour.

This year, we promise to stage an even more exciting race for both riders and spectators alike with the entourage heading back to Langkawi for the penultimate and final stage. Genting Highlands, the most challenging climb dubbed as the Tour’s queen stage, is back on the route map after a lapse of four years. The 1,240km 8-stage journey will take riders and the entourage across scenic spots along the west coast of Peninsular Malaysia including big cities, small kampungs and historical towns like Taiping, Muar, Melaka, Georgetown and of course, the legendary island itself.    

A total of 132 riders from 22 Teams from Europe, Asia Pacific, East and Southeast Asia, North America and South Africa are set to battle it out this year in the 8-day race to be held from 6 to 13th April 2019.

Don't forget follow us via: